First Trailer for THE LAST JEDI

Apr. 15, 2017

Hey, folks! Hope you’re all doing well. I’m enjoying a beautiful Easter weekend myself.

So the teaser for THE LAST JEDI has dropped, and it’s pretty cool:

(Um, spoilers ahead for the trailer you just watched, I guess, and for FORCE AWAKENS, which you’ve probably seen if you’re reading this.)

Yeah, it’s pretty cool. It didn’t grab me as much as the FORCE AWAKENS or ROGUE ONE trailers, but I still like it. (Keep in mind that a trailer is not always a good indication of the movie. I found the trailer for PHANTOM MENACE exciting, and the trailer for FINDING NEMO boring, but the first movie was boring and the second movie was amazing.)

The teaser starts off a little slow but builds in excitement as it goes. Surprisingly, there’s little of Finn in the trailer. I suppose they’re trying to keep his fate secret as they did for Luke in FORCE AWAKENS, but I hope Finn has more screen time than Luke did.

Luke’s final words in the trailer are worrisome, but I assume that’s the point: to intrigue us by hearing him say something that seems contrary to his nature. My curiosity is definitely piqued.

I may never get the Luke-Han-Leia reunion I was hoping for, but the real return of Luke Skywalker to the big screen for the first time since 1983 (as opposed to a wordless cameo)– yeah, that’s enough of a draw for me.

And if you’re still not excited, hopefully this poster hits all the right old-school, classic saga notes for you:

star_wars_the_last_jedi_poster_1688

Leave a Reply

